Who are you and what are you doing?

This blog is meant to document the progress of some schmuck learning a completely new set of skills from scratch. That schmuck is me, Joe Schmoe Coder. I have never coded anything and have no idea if I will achieve any level of success with it. This begs the question: why are you doing this? For me the answer is two fold.

I enjoy learning new things and challenging myself in unique ways. I have often sat and wondered, “How hard could it be to learn how to code and develop websites, software, apps, etc.?” I consider myself to be above average intelligence. I completed undergrad in three and a half years, graduated from law school, and passed the bar in my state on the first attempt. If I put my mind to it, I think I can learn nearly anything. So why shouldn’t I be able to learn computer code?

The other reason is a more selfish desire to increase my quality of life. I spend a fair amount of time on the wonderful world of Reddit as well as reading articles and blogs. I often see people on forums who work making a healthy living and many from home or remote locations. It’s not that I don’t enjoy my job in the legal world, but I believe there is something to be said for having a great quality of life and not having to report to an office everyday for the next 40 years. Coding seems to be a skill that one could learn and turn into a “side hustle” depending on how seriously you apply yourself or even into a career with the proper dedication. I have always been an idea man and have dreams of inventing/creating something that is cool and is profitable to some extent. I have recently had a string of ideas that I think could be turned into legitimate mobile apps and it has been the final straw to push me over the edge to just jump in and learn to code for myself.

So come with me on an adventure of what I am sure will be filled with fun, intrigue, new ideas, and a hell of a lot of frustration.

Joe Schmoe Coder

Leave a Reply

